Angel Cake

Since my childhood, this has always been one of my absolute favourite cakes. I have always wanted to try to make my own but have always held back because I was afraid it would not live up to my obviously high expectations! Then I spotted a recipe for it in my current favourite magazine – the Simple Things! I had to try it!

However, of course I have found it lacking! It is my first ever attempt and I think I made the yellow layer too thin and then on this layer one end is thicker than the other! Also the icing seems really runny – I often fail at icing. This time I substituted butter for margarine in the icing which on reflection is most likely why. I guess I need to accept icing is always going to bad for you – no point ruining it by substituting a key ingredient for something else! Here is my effort:

My first ever attempt at Angel Cake!

A post shared by Wyther (@wytherwytch) on

Just wondered if any one out there has an amazing angel cake recipe stashed away that they would care to share, as well as tips for making better icing or know any good icing substitutes for us people who try to avoid butter and other naughty things while trying to bake tasty treats! Let me know!

Here is a recipe I used:

Angel Cake

Ingredients

  • 6 egg whites
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp of cream of tartar
  • 175g caster sugar, plus 2 tbsps
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 100g plain flour, sifted
  • yellow and pink food colouring

For the buttercream

  • 3 tbsps unsalted butter, softened
  • 75g icing sugar
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 18o degrees C.
  2. Make sure you have tins to cook three equal layers of a cake, or you could get creative with some tin foil and a big cake tin. Whatever you are using – grease it!
  3. Whisk egg whites, salt and cream of tartar until frothy.
  4. Add caster sugar and whisk until the mixture stiffens and is glossy.
  5. Whisk in vanilla extract.
  6. Fold in flour.
  7. Divide the mixture up into three and dye one yellow and one pink.
  8. Place into whatever you are baking this in and bake for 15 minutes (although I did mine for an extra 10 as wasn’t pricking cleanly). Allow to cool.
  9. Mix butter, icing sugar and vanilla extract until smooth and fluffy. Use to sandwich the layers together!

A post shared by Wyther (@wytherwytch) on

Leave a Reply

